Skip to main
University-wide Navigation

The goal of the Provost's Office is to be a resource for all of the University of Kentucky, with a primary emphasis on enhancing UK's academic excellence and its brand as an institution that focuses on the Commonwealth in ways that have a global impact.

Making those priorities a reality involves cultivating strong and long-lasting partnerships with the campus community and fostering a culture of continuous improvement, trust, collaboration, diversity and inclusion. As such, the provost's office is a resource for colleges, deans, students, faculty and staff at the University of Kentucky.

Contact Us

Phone: (859) 257-2911


Provost's Staff

Dr. Katie Cardarelli

Kathryn Cardarelli, PhD, MPH, Senior Associate Provost for Administration and Academic Affairs

Kathryn Cardarelli began her role as Senior Associate Provost for Administration and Academic Affairs in October 2021. In this role, she coordinates all functions in the Office of the Provost, including providing oversight and direction of business, administrative and financial processes that impact all Provost-area units. This includes leading units including the Provost Budget Office, Office of the Registrar, University Press, Gaines Center, Chellgren Center, Institute for Biomedical Informatics and joint reporting responsibilities for Institutional Research, Analytics and Decision Support, the Center for Clinical and Translational Sciences and Center for Interprofessional Health Education. In her eight years at the University of Kentucky, Cardarelli has held a number of roles, including Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Interim Chair in the College of Public Health and Assistant Provost and Senior Assistant Provost in the Office for Faculty Advancement. 

Jay Miller

Dr. Justin “Jay” Miller, Acting Director of UK Online Education

Justin “Jay” Miller began his role as Acting Director of UK Online Education in March 2022. He provides oversight to the operations of UK Online Education, which has as its primary roles the support and guidance of online course and program development, consultation and training, quality assurance review of online courses and partnership with campus resources that support faculty. Miller also serves as the Dean of the College of Social Work, the Dorothy A. Miller Research Professor in Social Work Education and Director of the Self-Care Lab.

Katherine McCormick

Katherine McCormick, Acting Associate Provost for Planning and Assessment

Katherine McCormick began her role as the Acting Associate Provost for Planning and Assessment in March 2021. She oversees the operations of the Office of Strategic Planning and Institutional Effectiveness (OSPIE), which fosters a culture of evidence and continuous improvement and has as its primary role the support of assessment, strategic planning and the university’s accreditation with the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). She also serves as an Associate Vice President in the Office of the Vice President of Student Success.  McCormick is a Professor of Interdisciplinary Early Childhood in the Department of Early Childhood, Special Education and Counselor Education in the College of Education. and holds the Diane V. & James W. Stuckert Endowed Professorship in Service-Learning. In her more than 20 years at UK, McCormick has held a number of roles including Chair of the University Senate Council.

Photo of Martha Peterson

Martha Peterson, Acting Dean of the Graduate School and Acting Associate Provost for Graduate and Professional Education

Martha Peterson began her role as Acting Dean of the Graduate School and Acting Associate Provost for Graduate and Professional Education in July 2021. She provides leadership and direction for the Graduate School and professional education at UK and facilitates collaboration among academic units and other areas of institutional leadership. Peterson is a Professor of Microbiology, Immunology and Molecular Genetics in the College of Medicine. In her more than 30 years at UK, Peterson has held a number of roles including Senior Associate Vice President for Research.

Sue Roberts

Sue Roberts, Associate Provost for Internationalization

As the Associate Provost for Internationalization, Sue Roberts is the university's Senior International Officer or SIO. She oversees the UK International Center, including Education Abroad, International Student and Scholar Services, International Partnerships and Research, the Office of China Initiatives, the Global Health Initiative, International Recruitment, and International Health, Safety and Security. Her campus-wide role includes enhancing global learning, international research, working with each of UK’s colleges on initiatives related to global engagement, and chairing the International Advisory Council. She also is professor of geography. In her 30 years at UK, Roberts has held a number of roles including department chair, director of the international studies program and associate dean for internationalization in the College of Arts and Sciences.

Photo of Sue Nokes

Sue Nokes, PhD, PE, Acting Associate Provost for Faculty Advancement

Dr. Nokes has been a member of the faculty at the University of Kentucky since 1995 in a primarily research/teaching position. She served as the department chair of the Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering department from 2011 through 2017. Dr. Nokes has been in the Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Facilities role in the College of Engineering since 2019.  She has received several teaching awards, including the Provost’s teaching award in 2012. Dr. Nokes has published more than 60 peer reviewed articles and four book chapters and has received over $10 million in grant money from sources including the National Science Foundation, the U.S. Department of Agriculture and industrial support. Nokes’ research involves mathematical modeling of biological systems, specifically the microbial conversion of biomass into chemicals and fuels. Dr. Nokes holds one patent. Dr. Nokes is a long-time member of ASABE, the national professional society for Agricultural and Biological Engineers, and served as the society’s President for 2019-2020.